Boxed lemon beauty

I think(?) summer has official hit Toronto so I figured it was time to clean out my cupboards! During my cleaning I stumbled upon a box of Lemon Cake mix. I keep 1-2 cake mixes around to make quick cake bars (usually when I find out that guest will be coming over, at the last minute!) I was taught you have to feed guest whenever they come over, no matter how small the offering is. #GrowingUpInTheMidwest

I did not feel like making cake bars of of this box and right away my mind turned to the beautiful, juicy blackberries I picked up from the market on Saturday! That was it I was going to make blackberry lemon cake!

Blackberry lemon cake 

1 box of lemon cake mix

3 eggs

1/3 cup oil

1 and 1/3 cup water

1 cup blackberries

Preheat your over to 350

In a mixer add your wet ingredients and mix for about 30 seconds, until everything is combined. Slowly add in your cake mix while the mixer is on. (I swear! This is the secrecy to any moist cake, loaf, muffin, etc.). Once your batter is ready, fold in about 1/4 cup of blackberries .

Spray a cake or pie pan with non-stick spray and scatter your remaining blackberries at the bottom of the pan. (You can add as many as you would like!) I like to spread them around so that every cake piece has a few blackberries. Pour your batter over the blackberry filled pan and put in the oven, bake for 50-60 mins.

Once the cake is cooked, remove it from the oven and let it cool for 30 minutes. After that, cover it up with aluminum foil. I let the cake sit over night or a few hours before serving so that is complete cools.

When you go to serve it you can sprinkle powered sugar or top with additional blackberries.

The great thing about this recipe is that it universal and you can change out the fruit or cake flavor:

Other cake and fruit combos (the possibilities are endless)

  • Chocolate cake with raspberries
  • Lemon cake with blueberries
  • Vanilla cake with strawberries

This is the perfect cake for anytime of the year but I find it extra delicious in the summer when there are BBQs, life celebrations and sunshine! xx

blackberry cake

Leave a Reply

