Sweet of the Day: Carli and Her Guitar

When I first found out that my brother had a girlfriend I, being the good big sister that I am, did a little internet ‘check up’. I searched Facebook, Instagram, Twitter…whatever I could get my hands on. I was not expecting what I found…a Youtube page. I was sold. This new girlfriend had a YouTube page of her singing and playing the guitar without any filters or random beats of music in the background. The first song I listened to was the cover of ‘Cooler Than Me’ and my mind was blown. But my real question was where did my brother find this hidden musical gem? She was pretty, talented, in school, and could put up with a Horan. Oh, are you wondering who this sensational you woman is? Her name is Carli and her music is my Sweet of The Day.

Carli has been playing guitar and singing for about 2 1/2 years. Which I found so hard to believe because this girl has a timeless soulful voice that sounds like it has been cookin’ for years! Carli’s delay into the music scene is due to the fact she had spent her time focused on sporting activities. Carli told me that Alice Cooper is the reason that she was inspired to turn away from sports and focus on music. The second she dedicated all of her time to music, she knew it was the perfect fit for her.

Carli’s shift from sports player to guitar rocker chick happened after she saw the film “The Runaways,” based on the 1970s all-female rock band (Joan Jett’s first band, it was then that she decided ‘I wanted to be a rockstar too’). Her musical influences are too large to list, but her top talents include Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers, and Joan Jett & The Blackhearts. Seeing that Carli is musically inspired by bands it was no surprise when she started her own band called The Rumours. Carli is the lead vocalist and rhythm guitarist (I might add that my brother is in this band too, quick shout out). The Rumours goal is to open for the cover band “Hairball” at Cattle Congress this coming fall. But, until this happens they will find themselves practicing long and hard through the summer in hopes for that coveted spot in the fall.

Carli’s career goals are like any other young musician and that is to be well known and to inspire others through music. Carli credits her musical passion to successful women and bands across the decades. If Carli keeps up her hard work and dedication I believe that she can inspire others in ways she could not imagine. Even if it is becoming a local star or a YouTube sensation, Carli will be touching the lives of many young women with musical passions in the years to come.

Love at first tune! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nUhTTUS21Vw&list=UUI8BF28n7MnVjTCTaTiTwpA
Youtube Page: https://www.youtube.com/user/carlijpetty10
Twitter: @carlij_petty10
Instagram: carlij_petty10
The Rumours Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/TheRumoursBand13
carliSweet

Leave a Reply

